The Signs and the Elements

Photo by Irina Kharchenko

Each of the zodiac signs is associated with one of the four elements of the natural world.


Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn

Earth is essentially the tangible stuff of our existence – the solid ground beneath our feet, our bodies, our money and our possessions. Earth has weight, density, and form.

The Earth element is forever bound to our sense of worth and value… because in this case, the old scripture holds true – “Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” In other words, the material world may be the things that we can see, taste, touch, smell and feel… but it represents something much deeper within us – that which we value, that which we love, and that which we are willing to invest in.

Within us, the Earth element is the part of us that seeks to ground, establish roots, stabilize, manipulate form, AND claim our self worth.


Gemini, Libra and Aquarius

In the natural world, Air is the wind – the driving force that translates matter from one location to another. It rises; it falls; and it connects. It can also scatter, destroy, and coalesce, depending….

Within us, the Air element serves much the same function. It represents the part of us that seeks to connect with others, our environment and the universe at large. It’s our thoughts, our words, our ability to listen and understand, our way of communicating, and our drive to relate.

Much like the natural world, the part of us that is Air – our thoughts, our words, and our mode of connecting – has the ability to both build up and to tear down.


Aries, Leo and Sagittarius

In the natural world, Fire is the space-maker. It clears the way for new structures to be built and new foundations to be laid. Its heat can be low and smoldering, or wild and furious… but either way, it’s mode of operation is destruction in the service of creativity.

Within you, Fire is also the space-maker, clearing the way for the exercise of your will. It is the part of you that is passionate drive and creative force – raging into action and clearing the way so that new forms can be created in your life.


Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces

Water is the part of you that flows, dissolves, fills and holds. It’s the part of you that feels… and it’s also the part of you that remembers the past… deep down in your unconscious, hidden layers.

When you shed tears, shout rage, and laugh joy, you are embodying your Water… You are holding you – creating a safe space for you to express and feel… which in turn, helps you hold others.

Just like the natural world, your watery parts run deep… and they can get messy and blurry… run hot or run cold… The thing to remember is that your Water – your emotions, your “feels”, and your deep Knowing – is trying to tell you something – perhaps about what brings you joy, what fills you, what drains you, and what respects or violates your personal boundaries.