The Signs and the Seasons

We all know that the Earth revolves around the Sun, and that the Earth makes one complete revolution around the Sun each year. What many people do not realize, however, is that this movement (which is really analogous to the change in the seasons) combined with an intuitive understanding of the elements, is at the heart of understanding the signs of the zodiac.

There are four seasons – Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter; and each of the four seasons belongs to three of the zodiac signs.

The Signs of Spring

Spring belongs to Aries, Taurus and Gemini.

The signs of Spring begin with the Spring Equinox and encourage us to plant our seeds of intentions for the unfolding year ahead and to protect and nurture our budding ideas, passion projects, and new ways of being.

The Signs of Summer

Summer belongs to Cancer, Leo and Virgo.

The signs of Summer encourage us to turn the heat up on those things that have begun within us during the Spring – through establishing roots, diving deeper into our creativity and honing our craft.

The Signs of Autumn

Autumn belongs to Libra, Scorpio and Sagittarius.

The signs of Autumn begin with the Autumn Equinox, which represents a turning point in our Solar year – when the days get shorter and the nights get longer. The signs of Autumn encourage us to evaluate what needs balancing, what needs deepening, and where we need to make space for more.

The Signs of Winter

And Winter belongs to Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces.

The signs of Winter encourage us to “pull it in”, turn inward, release the outworn, and surrender to a calling that speaks to something much larger than our individual ambitions.

As the Sun and the Moon pass through each of the signs, we are all collectively grappling with similar themes.

Although the manifestations may be different for each of us, the lessons we are learning, as well as the pieces of ourselves and our world that we are discovering, are very much the same.

Cardinal Signs

The first sign of each season is known as Cardinal. Cardinal signs initiate, take the lead, and are proactive in the expression of their element.

The Cardinal signs are Aries (Fire), Cancer (Water), Libra (Air), and Capricorn (Earth).

Fixed Signs

Fixed signs are the second sign of every season. This is the period of each season that we typically experience as the most stable. Likewise, Fixed signs are known for their stability, their loyalty, and sometimes their stubbornness.

The Fixed signs are Taurus (Earth), Leo (Fire), Scorpio (Water), and Aquarius (Air).

Mutable Signs

Mutable signs are the last sign of each season. This is the period where one season is transitioning to the next, and is perhaps the least stable. Mutable signs are known for their versatility, adaptability and their change ability.

The Mutable signs are Gemini (Air), Virgo (Earth), Sagittarius (Fire), and Pisces (Water).

%d bloggers like this: